My top10+2 scariest movies

You’ll see that my top 10 list is mainly dominated by Stephen King adaptations. I might have forgotten some films but those are the ones that come to mind when I think of scary sh*t. Keep in mind I haven’t watched a lot of the classics, hence they didn’t make this list. I’ll try and compile a book list too but I guess most of it would be Poe and King so… :P

  1. Silent Hill: “Look at me! I’m burning!” For the first time in my life I was ready to get up and leave the theatre. It was so good though that I sat there and kept watching. And then I bought the DVD.
  2. Recycle: I didn’t really understand the whole lot of it but it was pretty fraked up and scary, the way only the Pang bros can do it.
  3. Rosemary’s baby: The book was way creepier but it was the movie that made me swear I would NEVER have children. I changed my mind later of course but I was scarred for several years.
  4. Salem’s Lot: Again, the book was scarier but the movie really really deserves a spot on my list. Somehow, even for a vampire lover like me, a whole town of vampires (and not at all like the fairy twitlike ones) isn’t a very pleasant thought
  5. Child’s Play: Oh you bet I locked all my humanoid dolls in the attic after this… I wonder why my mum let me watch all this sh*t :P
  6. 28 Days later: “Hi, I’m your neighbour. I’m gonna rip you apart now, k?” Yep. Scary as frak.
  7. Alien Films (ALL of them): ALIEN. FRAKING ALIEN. FRIGGING FRAKING ALIEN. I think I told you before that I LOATHE the “Alien” franchise not for any other reason than that I watched it very young and it gave me plenty of nightmares/made me scream my head off in a full theater *dies of embarassment*
  8. The Shining: Surprisingly, NOT the Stanley Kubrick version but the 1997 one. Although Jacko was fantastic as Jack Torrance (again the book… brrrr) I really disliked Shelley Duvall as Wendy. I really adored the mini series version though. King’s books are way better as mini series because they NEED the amount of detail the horror master puts in his writings.
  9. The Mist: “There’s something in the mist. Shut the doors!”  Monsters in the mist?Frak yeah ! Thank you Mr. King for another sleepless night.
  10. Pan’s Labyrinth: When you expet a fairytale and you get this, it’s fairly certain you’ll sh*t bricks :P
  11. Kingdom Hospital: Again a mini series but it was so good it actually made me freak out when my husband started talking in his sleep. I thought he was possessed :Pp
  12. Godsend: For some reason this movie scared me to the point of hiding under the blanket. I still have no clue why.

 

Of course the scariest movies I’ve ever watched were Twitlight, Epic Movie and Dungeons& Dragons. But those were scary the bad way. They were so crappy that I almost cried myself to sleep. Clicking the links above might make your computer shut down in protest.

Which are the movies that scared you the most?

One Response to “My top10+2 scariest movies”

  1. Hey! Nice blog. Agree with the list too! I think you can be scared in different ways from movies. A movie that freaked me out for some reason was “Lost Highway” – not a scary movie as such, but it was maddening and too weird! That mystery man when answering on the phone… eek!!! freaky movie, great Bowie song though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

